A Resolution for Censure of the Republican Representatives Voting with Democrats for Ohio Speaker of the House Including Hamilton County Representatives Bill Seitz and Cindy Abrams

Hamilton County Ohio Republican Party Central Committee February 2, 2023

Sponsors of this Resolution: George Brunemann – Colerain F Ina Loftspring - Cincinnati 4G Michael Connaughton – Sharonville 2A Angie Settell - Loveland G Cherise Wilson – Forest Park B Kerry Smyth – Cheviot 1A Tyson Butler – Anderson P Brian Smyth – Cheviot 3A John McHugh – Cincinnati 9B Bonnie Bernard – Montgomery B Delores Jacobson – Montgomery A Hyesun Park – Cincinnati 5B Ken Walston - Cincinnati 1E Dawson Smith – Anderson U Erik Nebergall - Cincinnati 23N Claudia Harrod – Madeira F Becky Foster - Cincinnati 5I

Terry Tipton – Cincinnati 1J Brian Hue – Montgomery D Dean Clingerman – Mariemont B Ken White – Mariemont A Johathan Pearson - Fairfax A John Flick – Cincinnati 11 Daric Foster – Cincinnati 1H Dr Kiumars Kiani – Cincinnati 26D Colleen Kerns – Springdale B Patti Gardner - Cincinnati 2J Jay Gohman – Terrace Park A Justin Nolan – Cincinnati 26S Lisa Daly – Anderson T Michael Fancher – Anderson B Rodney Thiemann - Anderson S Daniel Slacido – Anderson F Bonnie Klusmeyer - Silverton B

Juliet Tissot – Madeira H Beth Egbers – Cincinnati 14H Ron Freudenberg – Madeira G Kevin Misiak -Anderson A Mark Menkhaus – Green KK Kenny Burck – Greenhills B Andy Masur – Colerain R John Sess – Cincinnati 26K Dan Bueche – Symmes J Mary Kuhl – Green Z Christine Colliver – Colerain LL Elizabeth Mason – Loveland E Colleen Nardini – Cincinnati 1M Tim Harvey – Miami F John Capannari – Cincinnati 4A Andrew Harvey – Cincinnati 21C

WHEREAS, Ohio Republicans achieved a majority of members in the 135th House of Representatives with sixty-seven (67) members; while the democratic party achieved a minority of members with thirty-two (32) members;

WHEREAS, On November 16th, 2022, the Ohio House Republican Caucus elected Representative Derek Merrin (R- Monclova) to be the Ohio House Republican Caucus nominee for Speaker of the House;

WHEREAS, on January 3rd, 2023, the 135th House of Representatives elected Representative Jason Stephens (R- Kitts Hill) with unanimous vote of all thirty-two (32) Democrat members and a minority of twenty-two (22) Republican members, each of whom were part of the Ohio House Republican Caucus that elected Derek Merrin as the caucus' nominee;

WHEREAS, Representative Stephens swore in with democratic minority party leader Allison Russo (D- Upper Arlington) holding a Bible for him to swear upon;

WHEREAS, the twenty-two (22) Republican votes for Stephens dishonors the vote of the Ohio House Republican Caucus, dishonors the historic brand of the Republican Party, and misrepresents the voice and betrays the trust of Ohio Republican voters who collectively voted for these twenty-two (22) members in order to defeat the dangerous and perverse Democratic Party Caucus agenda, not empower it;

WHEREAS, The Ohio Republican State Central Committee passed a resolution to CENSURE Republican representatives who voted in favor of newly elected House Speaker Jason Stephens;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Hamilton County Ohio Republican Party hereby CENSURES and denounces the actions of the following twenty-two (22) Republican representatives:

1. Jason Stephens (Kitts Hill),

- 2. Cindy Abrams (Harrison),
- 3. Monica R. Blasdel (Columbiana County),
- 4. Sarah P. Carruthers (Hamilton),
- 5. Jon Cross (Kenton),
- 6. Al Cutrona (Canfield),
- 7. Jay Edwards (Nelsonville),
- 8. Haraz N. Ghanbari (Perrysburg),
- 9. Brett Hudson Hillyer (Uhrichsville),
- 10. Don Jones (Freeport),
- 11. Jeff LaRe (Violet Township),

- 12. Mike Loychick (Bazetta),
- 13. Kevin D. Miller (Newark),
- 14. Scott Oelslager (North Canton),
- 15. Tom Patton (Strongsville),
- 16. Gail K. Pavliga (Portage County),
- 17. Bob Peterson (Washington Court House),
- 18. Tracey Richardson (Marysville),
- 19. Bill Seitz (Cincinnati),
- 20. D.J. Swearingen (Huron),
- 21. Bob Young (Green),
- 22. Jean Schmidt (Loveland).

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Hamilton County Ohio Republican Party issues a VOTE OF NO CONFIDENCE in Bill Seitz and Cindy Abrams.