To: Ohio Republican Voters From: Fellow Concerned Citizens (see signatories at end of letter)

We are writing to make you aware of a betrayal in the Ohio House of Representatives that included two individuals representing Hamilton County and to ask for your support in getting better representation moving forward.

In the November 2022 election, the Republicans won a 67 to 32 super majority in the Ohio House. This should have been a cause for celebration with a significant mandate from the voters to advance a conservative agenda. On November 16th the Republican Caucus met and selected Derek Merrin to be the next Speaker of the House. In any other year, this would have been the end of it as the GOP representatives in the caucus would simply affirm their choice at the start of the new legislative session. However, when the vote came on January 3rd, twenty-two of the "Republicans" joined the thirty-two Democrat representatives and selected Jason Stephens as the Speaker.

The details of the different speaker candidate backgrounds is not important, what matters is that 22 members gave their word to support the candidate that won the caucus vote and then went back on their word and joined the Democrat Party to select a speaker that better reflected the Democrat agenda.

- The Democrats would never support a Speaker that was Pro-Life or Pro-Family.
- The Democrats would never support a Speaker that was for School Choice.
- The Democrats would never support a Speaker that was against School Indoctrination.
- The Democrats would never support a Speaker that was for Individual Liberty, Religious Freedom, the Second Amendment or any other Republican or Conservative Principle

The obvious conclusion is that these 22 turncoats are more aligned with the interests of the Democrat Party than they are with the majority of the Republican Caucus. In joining the unanimous selection of the Democrat Party these officials abandoned the voters who elected them to be their voice. The representatives responsible for deserting the Republican consensus were censured by a resolution of the Ohio Republican State Central Committee on January 6th. (You can view the speech supporting the resolution here.)

Two of the Democrat aligned Representatives, Bill Seitz and Cindy Abrams are from districts in Hamilton County. Both of these individuals were on the "pink sample ballot" as endorsed by the Hamilton County Republican Party. Bill Seitz was even endorsed in the primary over a first time candidate. Clearly Seitz and Abrams no longer represent the principles of the voters that elected them and the party that supported them.

The members of the Hamilton County Central Committee should represent their voters by calling for sanctions on Bill Seitz and Cindy Abrams. In abandoning the Republican Party, Bill Seitz and Cindy Abrams should receive no funding or support from the Hamilton County Republican Party and should never be endorsed or included on any future sample ballot.

We ask that you contact these representatives to express your view of their actions as well as the Hamilton County Republican Party and Ohio Republican Party.

Cindy Abrams, <u>Rep29@OhioHouse.gov</u>, (614)466-9091 Bill Seitz, <u>Rep30@OhioHouse.gov</u>, (614)466-8258 Hamilton County GOP, <u>Debbie@HamiltonCountyRepublicanParty.org</u>, (513)381-5454 Ohio GOP, <u>ChairmanAlexT@gmail.com</u>, (614)228-2481

Two other area representatives, Sarah Carruthers of Butler County and Jean Schmidt of Clermont County also abandoned the Republican party and are worthy of similar action in their districts.

Sarah Carruthers, <u>Rep47@OhioHouse.gov</u>, (614)644-6721 Jean Schmidt, <u>Rep62@OhioHouse.gov</u>, (614)466-8134

Signed by the following concerned Ohio Republicans:

Jodi Achterberg Sue Babcox Jim Berns Gary Blakeman Yvonne Bohan Lauren Renee Bowen George Brunemann Katie Buchmann **Tyson Butler** John G. Capannari Mary Capella Patrick Capella Linda Caudill Greg Chura Dean Clingerman **Betty Clingerman** Barry Cole **Christine Colliver** Michael Connaughton Joshua M. Davis Jacquelyn DeWitt James DeWitt Grant Dowlin Gerry Dzikowski Joan Edeler Judith B. Evans Joe Fisher Standish Fortin **Becky Foster** Michael Francher

Ron Freudenberg Patti Gardner Kim Georgeton Jenn Giroux Viva Goorian Jody Graf Maureen E. Green Thomas Hagedorn Ameenah Hameen Sue Hardenbergh Claudia Harrod John Hinderv Barbara Holwadel Susan Holzapfel Brian Hue Diane Hughes Angela Hymer Michael Hymer Delores Jacobson Doug Jaeger Kimberly Kempke Kathy LeFevre Kathy Leugers Maria K. Leugers David T. Leugers Jim Lewis William Lindsey John J. Lipps Jody Liske Otto Liske

Ina Loftspring Mary Ann Lukens Julie Mathenv Ruth Denise B. Mayer Richard F. Mayer Mark W. Miller Robert F. Muhlhauser Steve Murray Jennifer Neal P. Douglas Oppenheimer Hyesun Park Johnathan Pearson **Charis Peterson** Joe Platt Michelle Rolfes Laura Rosenberger Jeremiah Sawyer Susan Schwartz Angela Settell Cynthia T. Sheakley Terry Smallwood Lynne Teuschler **Terry Tipton** Kurt Verhoff Ron Von Allemen Ken Walston Ray Warrick Michael J. Willwerth Jr. **Jonathan Broadbent**